TheNewsTribe correspondent from the Birmingham confirmed the report and added that the player also find for the violation.
The West Indies wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin has been suspended for two one-day internationals after being found guilty of “conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game” after claiming a catch which he had dropped.
The incident happened during the West Indies’ Champions Trophy win over Pakistan. He celebrated catching the opposing captain Misbah-ul-Haq at Edgbaston on Friday but umpires spotted the ball had slipped from his grasp and hit the ground.
The 28-year-old, who pleaded not guilty to the charge laid by all four umpires on duty, has also been fined his entire match fee following an ICC disciplinary hearing, although he does have the right to appeal.
Chris Broad, of ICC’s elite panel of match referees, said “This is regarded as a serious offence as it is the responsibility of all players to act in the spirit of the game,” he said. “I hope Mr Ramdin has learnt his lesson from this incident and that we will not see such behaviour by him or any player in the future.”