33.4 C
November 14, 2019
Image default
Football Sports

Neuer wins World Cup Golden Glove

Rio de Janeiro: Germany’s Manuel Neuer won the World Cup Golden Glove award for the tournament’s best goalkeeper after helping his side to a 1-0 victory over Argentina in Sunday’s final.

The 28-year-old Bayern Munich player was presented with the award at Rio de Janeiro’s Maracana Stadium moments after the triumph.

“It is unbelievable, and an awesome experience,” said Neuer of his side’s victory, which gave Germany their fourth world title.

“We have had incredible cohesion since the start of our preparations. We have had our share of setbacks, including losing players like Lars and Sven Bender, as well as Marco Reus, who all deserve to be world champions.

“Germany are world champions. I don’t know how long we will celebrate, but we will go about it with big grins.”

Neuer beat off competition from Argentine opposite number Sergio Romero and Keylor Navas of surprise package Costa Rica to win the award.

The former Schalke goalkeeper was beaten only four times in the tournament and kept four clean sheets, including the 1-0 quarter-final win over France and the victory over Argentina in the final.

He succeeds Spain’s Iker Casillas, who was voted the outstanding goalkeeper at the 2010 tournament in South Africa.