10.8 C
October 17, 2019
Image default
Cricket Sports

England include Rashid in 13-man Ashes squad

LONDON: With inclusion of uncapped Adil Rashid and pacer Steven Finn, England announced its 13-men squad for the opening Ashes Test against Australia.

New head coach Trevor Bayliss says he wants England to “play with freedom”

Unfit Mark Footitt and Liam Plunkett are not picked, but Steven Finn has been recalled for his performances in ODI series against Kiwis.

The first Test of the five-match series starts in Cardiff on Wednesday, 8 July.

Rashid is one of five players in England squad – along with Moeen Ali, Jos Buttler, Adam Lyth and Mark Wood – who have not played in an Ashes series.

Ashes schedule

8-12 July: First Test, Cardiff

16-20 July: Second Test, Lord’s

29 July – 2 August: Third Test, Edgbaston

6-10 August: Fourth Test, Trent Bridge

20-24 August: Fifth Test, The Oval