18.4 C
October 23, 2019
Image default
Cricket Sports

BCCI announces eight venues for ICC Twenty20 Cricket World Cup 2016

MUMBAI – Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Tuesday announced venues for men and women’s Twenty20 Cricket World Cup 2016.

BCCI announced all venues for men and women’s Cricket T20 World Cup 2016. India will host the mega event starting from 11 March to April 3 2016.

India confirmed the eight venues for mega event of International Cricket Council (ICC). Match will be played in Chennai, Bengaluru, Dharmsala, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi and Kolkata.

The famous stadium Eden Gardens of Kolkata will host the final of world cup. Eden Gardens had missed to host the matches of Cricket World Cup 2011 because of renovation work.

Final of 1996 world cup and semi-final of world cup 1996 were played in Eden Gardens stadium.

BCCI secretary Anurag Thakur said, “BCCI is extremely proud to host this prestigious event. All the venues identified have hosted many prestigious matches. With this announcement, we have begun our preparations in right earnest. We want this World Twenty20 to be a memorable experience for our participants and fans. I am confident that all the venues nominated will deliver a world class event.”