13.7 C
October 24, 2019
Image default
Cricket Sports Top Stories

‘Young Gun’ Umar Akmal makes way to Pakistan T20 Squad against Sri Lanka


LAHORE – Pakistan Cricket Board announced 16-man squad on Wednesday for Twenty20 series against Sri Lanka, Thenewstribe.com reported.

Pakistan team will play two Twenty20 matches against Sri Lanka under the captaincy of star all-rounder Shahid Khan Afridi.

According to detail, ‘young gun’ Umar Akmal will also part of 16-man squad. Mohammad Hafeez also selected as special batsman for short format of cricket.

Left arm spinner Imad Wasim also part of team against Sri Lanka to fulfill the space of Mohammad Hafeez as he was banned for one year by International Cricket Council (ICC) because of illegal bowling action.

PCB also gave the chance to young Nouman Anwar to show his talent. Pakistan fast bowler Wahab Riaz will be part of team if he prove his fitness.

Squad: Shahid Afridi (captain), Umar Akmal, Ahmed Shahzad, Nouman Anwar, Muhammad Irfan, Muhammad Hafeez, Mukhtar Ahmed, Shoaib Malik, Muhammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Yasir Shah, Sohail Tanvir, Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Ziaul Haq/Wahab Riaz