13.1 C
October 22, 2019
Image default

PP-100 Gujranwala: PML-N’s Rana Akhtar wins by election

GUJRANWALA: Pakistan Muslim League–Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Rana Akhtar Ali has won the by-election in Gujranwala PP-100 against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Ehsanullah Virk, thenewstribe.com learnt.

According to unofficial results, PML-N’s candidate Rana Akhter acquired 49991 while PTI’s Ehsanullah received 28338 votes.

The seat was vacated after former PML-N’s MPA Shamshad Hasan was murdered two months ago.

Rigging allegations surfaced once again as the PTI and PML-N contested for the provincial assembly seat In Kamonke. Workers of both the parties clashed on various occasions. Several were injured in a clash at the sensitive Bharoki Virkaan polling station.

Angry workers pelted stones at each other and damaged cars. They dismantled the polling camps’ tents. Finally, Rangers took control of the polling station.