13.1 C
October 22, 2019
Latest Pakistan Top Stories

ECP suspends 332 MPs including Fawad, Shehryar Afridi, Ahsan Iqbal

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has suspended memberships of 332 parliamentarians including Federal Minister for Health Amir Mahmood Kiyani, Federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting Fawad Chaudhry and State Minister for Interior Shehryar Afridi for their failure to submit their details of assets.

According to the ECP, Fawad Chaudhry, Deputy Speaker National Assembly Qasim Suri, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) senior leader Ahsan Iqbal and State Minister for Interior Shehryar Afridi were among the federal and provincial lawmakers suspended by the ECP.

The lawmakers have failed to submit their annual statement of assets to the Commission.

Balochistan National Party (BNP) chief Akhtar Mengal and Minister for Health Amir Mehmood Kiyani were also suspended as lawmakers. During the period of suspension, the parliamentarians cannot attend their respective houses.

The total number of members in the Senate, National Assembly and the four provincial assemblies is 1,174, said the ECP.

The membership of the suspended lawmakers will be restored once they file their statement of assets to the Commission.